A User's Trailmix Progress is Eventually Consistent Resulting in Inconsistent Reporting
Trailblazer Community

A User's Trailmix Progress is Eventually Consistent Resulting in Inconsistent Reporting

myTrailhead , Trailhead

Last updated 4 days ago ·Reference W-10323227 ·Reported By 1 users

In Review

Summary
Trailmixes solve the problem of how to enable anyone with access to Trailhead or myTrailhead to group learning content to help create journeys that make other people more successful. Although anyone can create a Trailmix, the ability to assign and report on a user’s progress with a Trailmix is done exclusively within Trail Tracker which is a free AppExchange app (https://sfdc.co/trailtracker) that empowers administrators and program managers to manage content and Trailmixes for their organization.

myTrailhead customers who use Trail Tracker to report on Trailmix assignments may notice some discrepancies in the dates and times associated with a user’s progress. The primary issue is that the Trailmix will show a completed timestamp that is different from the last completed module or step of the Trailmix.

Repro
Trailhead and myTrailhead users subscribe to Trailmixes. Subscription just means that a user’s progress associated with a Trailmix may be tracked. Progress refers to the state of completion for each step within a Trailmix. A user can always view a Trailmix, but often they want to track their own progress and their manager may also want to track their progress which is why subscribing to it is important.

There are several ways a user may subscribe to a Trailmix:

1. A user is the creator of the Trailmix - in which case they are automatically subscribed to that Trailmix
2. A user manually subscribes when they click the follow button on the Trailmix
3. A user is auto-subscribed when they click into the Trailmix and complete a step or attempt a unit from within the Trailmix
4. A user is auto-subscribed when they are assigned the Trailmix through Trail Tracker

Depending on how the user is subscribed to the Trailmix, there are different behaviors you can expect.

If a user creates the Trailmix, they are automatically subscribed for tracking progress and the Trailmix can’t be un-subscribed for the creator.

When a user creates a Trailmix, if:

1. the Trailmix has no completed content by the creator at the time of creation, it’s marked in progress
2. the Trailmix has any content in progress by the creator at the time of creation, it’s marked in progress
3. all the content in the Trailmix has been completed at the time of creation, it’s marked as completed


If a user deletes a Trailmix, the status is locked for any users who have subscribed to it. If another user has it in progress, they won’t be allowed to complete it. If another user has it completed, they won’t be allowed to un-subscribe from it. And the user will continue to see it in the Trailmix tab of Trailhead.

If a user clicks the follow button, they can always click an unfollow button to delete the history of their progress with the Trailmix unless it’s been deleted by the creator.

If a user is auto-subscribed while completing a step or attempting a unit within the Trailmix, they can always click an unfollow button to delete the history of their progress with the Trailmix.

If a user is assigned a Trailmix, they are unable to un-follow the Trailmix unless they are unassigned the Trailmix, in which case, they will still have their progress tracked.

Workaround
If the variance in time stamps block notification and reporting use cases, create Badge and User Badge reports to view the progress of the underlying steps of the Trailmix.

Reported By (1)

Any unreleased services, features, statuses, or dates referenced in this or other public statements are not currently available and may not be delivered on time or at all. Customers who purchase our services should make their purchase decisions based upon features that are currently available.