Attaching a file to a record from Salesforce File sets the visibility to "All Users".
Last updated 2020-01-04 ·Reference W-6785366 ·Reported By 3 users
If you attach a file to a record from your PC, the visibility of that File will be Internal Only. Which means, external users will not have access.
If you attach the same file to another record from Salesforce Files, the visibility of that file will be AllUsers. This will allow external users to view the file.
Expectation: Attaching the same file to a record from Salesforce Files should get Internal Only visibility by default.
This occurs to any object.
1) In a case record, attach a file from PC.
2) Click on the attached file and go to "Share" -> Expand "Who can Access".
Result: "Customer Access" is disabled.
3) In another case record, attached the same file from "Owned by me".
4) Click on the attached file and go to "Share" -> Expand "Who can Access".
Result: "Customer Access" is Enabled.
Expected: "Customer Access" is disabled.
Manually set the "Customer Access" is disabled.
Is it Fixed?
Any unreleased services, features, statuses, or dates referenced in this or other public statements are not currently available and may not be delivered on time or at all. Customers who purchase our services should make their purchase decisions based upon features that are currently available.