Editing MobileConnect priority in the UI will cause all mobile numbers to share the same priority
Trailblazer Community

Editing MobileConnect priority in the UI will cause all mobile numbers to share the same priority

Marketing Cloud Mobile

Last updated 2020-02-28 ·Reference W-4888308 ·Reported By 6 users

No Fix

Summary
Editing a subscriber's mobile priority in the UI will cause all mobile numbers associated to the contact to share the same priority. This will cause these numbers to be unable to be sent to.

Repro
-Go to MobileConnect > Add Contacts (Manually)
-Add yourself with {ExampleContactKey} - {Locale} - {your mobile number} for the 3 required fields, Save and Close
-Repeat the above with a different mobile number
-Find your contact and click on it (note 2 numbers are on the same contact as expected)
-Click on Attributes
-Scroll down to MobileConnect Data and click Edit
-Note there are 2 numbers with priorities of 1 and 2
-Flip the priorities so that the 2 becomes 1 and 1 becomes 2, save
-Click Edit again on MobileConnect Data
-Note both are priority 1
-Change one of the numbers to priority 2, save
-Click Edit again on MobileConnect Data
-Note both are still priority 1

Workaround
Use imports or the API to control priority. The newest mobile number added will take priority 1 and each other existing number will take their old priority +1.

Any unreleased services, features, statuses, or dates referenced in this or other public statements are not currently available and may not be delivered on time or at all. Customers who purchase our services should make their purchase decisions based upon features that are currently available.