Control Center permissions are lost if editing user has less permissions than the user being edited
Trailblazer Community

Control Center permissions are lost if editing user has less permissions than the user being edited

Commerce Cloud Admin

Last updated 2020-04-18 ·Reference W-6828342 ·Reported By 4 users

In Review

Summary
Given User 1 of org X (any role) with permissions to aaaa_s01 of org Y.

If a User 2 of org X (CC_ADMIN) with no permissions to aaaa_s01 makes any changes to User 1, User 1 will loose all direct instance permissions User 2 has no right to.

Repro
User 1 (in org X) has access to aaaa from org Y.

User 2 (in org X) has no access to aaaa from org Y. User 2 is doing some direct permission changes for User 1. This causes that User 1 is only saved with permissions User 2 has access to as well.

Workaround
Assign roles using instance permission in control center.

Any unreleased services, features, statuses, or dates referenced in this or other public statements are not currently available and may not be delivered on time or at all. Customers who purchase our services should make their purchase decisions based upon features that are currently available.