If a sandbox clone is deleted and the source organization no longer exists the sandbox clone will be left in an active state.
Last updated 2019-10-12 ·Reference W-5988597 ·Reported By 5 users
If the source sandbox for a clone no longer exists(it was either deleted or has since been refreshed) a clone of that sandbox will remain active if the user deletes the sandbox from production. The listing will no longer be visible but, the sandbox will still be accessible and if a new sandbox is created with the same name the usernames in the new sandbox will be prefixed.
1. Create a sandbox you will use as the source of a clone. For this example "Source" will be the name.
2. Create a clone of "Source" called "Copy"
3. Refresh "Source" and activate the new copy.
4. Delete the clone called "Copy"
5. The listing for "Copy" will no longer be displayed but, you can still log into the sandbox.
Refresh the sandbox as a copy of production, the clone copy will be properly deleted, then delete the new copy after the normal interval has passed if you do not need it.
Refreshing the copy in general will result in the previous copy being deleted properly as well.
For copies already deleted that are still present please log a case with support referencing this known issue.
Is it Fixed?
Any unreleased services, features, statuses, or dates referenced in this or other public statements are not currently available and may not be delivered on time or at all. Customers who purchase our services should make their purchase decisions based upon features that are currently available.