When Reset Password, "Password Expiration Date" of user is set Organization's "User passwords expire date" instead of Profile's "User passwords expire
Last updated 2016-07-28 ·Reference W-2742811 ·Reported By 3 users
When User passwords expire date is set in both Profile and Organization and then Reset Password, Password Expiration Date of user would be set Organization date instead of Profile date.
The password expiration date is updated only if the new expiration date is earlier than the old expiration date or if new expiration date is set "Never Expires".
Therefore, the expiration date can only be more restrictive, unless you remove password expiration altogether with "Never Expires."
Users with the “Password Never Expires” Permission Sets or with the Profile “Password Never Expires” feature enabled are not affected by this setting. The user password will expire but it's not enforced and the user is not forced to change the password.
Important: As soon as the “Password Never Expires” Permission Sets is removed or the Profile “Password Never Expires” feature is disabled, the users will be forced to change their password upon login.
Password Policies "User password Expire in" under each Profile has to be set to "Never Expires" and back to the desired expiration days.
The bug was already fixed in Winter 16
Is it Fixed?
Any unreleased services, features, statuses, or dates referenced in this or other public statements are not currently available and may not be delivered on time or at all. Customers who purchase our services should make their purchase decisions based upon features that are currently available.